The Disasters

The Disasters

Book - 2018 | First edition
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
Nax and a handful of other space Academy washouts are the only surviving pilots after the school is hijacked by terrorists, but in order to spread the truth about the attack, Nax and his fellow failures must execute a dangerous heist.-- Provided by Publisher.
Publisher: New York, NY : Harper Teen, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2018]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2018
ISBN: 9780062657671
Branch Call Number: ENGLAND
Characteristics: 352 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
JessicaGma May 27, 2019

This was a great space caper with a bisexual main character - lots of action, drama, chases, you name it.

g
goddessbeth
May 26, 2019

This was exactly what I hoped for- a fun space adventure romp with a bunch of teenaged misfit geniuses. If that sounds like an 80s movie, it did kind of have that vibe to it (entertaining, visual, and I swear my brain supplied a soundtrack and everything). It's a quick-paced adventure story with a diverse ensemble cast, so a pretty perfect setup as far as summer reads go. Don't expect to get heavily emotionally invested in any specific character, but each character is developed enough to be their own distinct person with identifying quirks (OK, I would've liked to see more development with Rion, possibly because his wit was charming).

It was awesome to have an openly bisexual MC (the first time I can recall reading a story with an openly bisexual MC, to be honest) and also, at the same time, to have the love triangle (well, triangle of sexual tension) *not* be vying to be a main plot point. Yay! Speaking of plot, it has a sort of Star Wars level hero's journey feel to it. There are a lot of sly nods to popular science fiction shows and stories, which were nice Easter eggs to run across. I also appreciate that the author reached for a threat concept that mirrors real world politics (as opposed to some Snidely Whiplash level of villainy), even thought there's a lot that's brushed past (this book really does read like a 1980's teen movie, but I also really liked it).

Overall, I liked it and it's put me in both a "more scifi!" and a "more misfits!" mood. :)

SnoIsleLib_MartaM Mar 03, 2019

Seat-of-the pants action featuring a cast of diverse characters who shouldn't have been washed out of the academy. They are just the crew to try to save the universe. Heist adventure meets space opera for tons of nail-biting fun.

DCLteens Dec 17, 2018

A 2018 Must-Read Young Adult pick! Full of high-stakes action, subversive humor, and underdogs becoming heroes, this YA sci-fi adventure is perfect for fans of "Illuminae," "Heart of Iron," and the cult classic TV show "Firefly." It's also a page-turning thrill ride that anyone—not just space nerds—can enjoy.

LPL_WilliamO Nov 27, 2018

This is the ABSOLUTE BEST YA Sci-Fi book you'll EVER READ! It's kind of like The Breakfast Club meets Guardians of the Galaxy. Plus diverse characters, with bi and trans representation included. Full of action. SO FUN. SO GOOD. Don't skip it!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top