I've Been Meaning to Tell You

I've Been Meaning to Tell You

A Letter to My Daughter

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
In the tradition of Ta-Nehisi Coates's Between the World and Me and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Dear Ijeawele, or a Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions , acclaimed novelist David Chariandy's latest is an intimate and profoundly beautiful meditation on the politics of race today.

When a moment of quietly ignored bigotry prompted his three-year-old daughter to ask "what happened?" David Chariandy began wondering how to discuss with his children the politics of race. A decade later, in a newly heated era of both struggle and divisions, he writes a letter to his now thirteen-year-old daughter. David is the son of Black and South Asian migrants from Trinidad, and he draws upon his personal and ancestral past, including the legacies of slavery, indenture, and immigration, as well as the experiences of growing up a visible minority within the land of one's birth. In sharing with his daughter his own story, he hopes to help cultivate within her a sense of identity and responsibility that balances the painful truths of the past and present with hopeful possibilities for the future.
Publisher: Toronto, Ontario : McClelland & Stewart, [2018]
Copyright Date: ©2018
ISBN: 9780771018077
Branch Call Number: 813.6 CHA 2018
Characteristics: 120 pages ; 19 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
m
malcolm_88
Jul 01, 2018

I picked this up a couple hours ago and randomly opened to a page, read a bit... leafed back to the beginning and finished the whole book in one go.

The author writes about the hardships of being a POC in Canada but it's not an outright condemnation of "whites" though there is some of that. He talks about Indigenous people as well, and their rights and losses. A huge amount of tenderness comes through, father to daughter. The daughter appears to be strong and vivacious while the author is quiet and contemplative.

Read it! And Brother, also. I'm off to find Soucouyant, Chariandy's first novel, now, the only one I haven't read yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top