A Killer in King's Cove

A Killer in King's Cove

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
11
It is 1946, and war-weary young ex-intelligence officer Lane Winslow leaves London to look for a fresh start. When she finds herself happily settled in King's Cove, a sleepy hamlet nestled in the idyllic interior of British Columbia surrounded by a suitably eclectic cast of small-town characters she feels like she may finally be able to put her past to rest. But then a body is discovered, the victim of murder, and although she works alongside the town's inspectors Darling and Ames to discover who might possibly have motivation to kill, she casts doubt on herself. As the investigation reveals facts that she has desperately tried to keep a secret, it threatens to pull her into a vortex of even greater losses than the ones she has already endured.
Publisher: Victoria, British Columbia : TouchWood Editions, c2016
ISBN: 9781771511988
Branch Call Number: WHISHAW
Characteristics: 409, 13 p. ; 19 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
ReadingAdviser_leni May 20, 2019

Just after WWII, a former spy has moved to a small community just outside of Nelson, BC. She has a lovely house with friendly neighbours, and is settling in nicely and is hoping to write a book. Then, someone is discovered dead in the creek and she then works on solving the mystery. Lots of fun, and I look forward to reading the rest in the series and seeing how the relationships with all the characters develop.

s
SusanJ_124
Feb 12, 2019

I enjoyed this book. It has a bit of the over-explaining that is often found in the first book of a series and/or first book by an author. However, despite this minor drawback, the plot flows well, the setting is wonderful, and the characters very well developed.

I will read other books in this series.

n
nerowolfgal
Sep 02, 2018

I had to hide a grin reading some of the writing. Yes, Nelson and the country around are beautiful BUT. The main character keeps wandering around near woods, creeks, and lakes, and in the twilight, and no mention at all of the mosquitoes! She also keeps leaving her windows open all night, which unless you have good window screens, you DON'T do. I have donated enough of my blood to the BC interior mosquitoes to have that rule engraved on my bones.

p
PeggyJ_0
Aug 19, 2018

Thank you HCLIB for ordering this series. I read the first 3 books using ILL and fell in love with them. The books capture you in the first few pages. A mystery, a Britt who immigrates to British Columbia at the end of WWII, beautiful scenery, a love story. It’s got it all. Strong characters. I’m reading the 4th book now and can’t wait for #5 this fall.

t
TerryAB
Aug 15, 2018

This series has quickly become my favorite summer read this year. The setting is pastoral, until a body turns up in the creek. And the main characters are carrying the scars of their experiences in World War II, but still engaged in all around them, including solving the murder.

t
TerryAB
Jun 27, 2018

Great for readers of Jacqueline Winspear and Charles Todd. Strong female characters, interesting setting, and a nice back and forth with time throughout the plot. Can't wait for the next one.

p
Peregrine
Feb 18, 2018

Agree with other comments - a thoroughly engaging read with a complex mystery. My one minor complaint would be the number of minor errors - a few inconsistencies and some typos - that marred an otherwise good mystery. Perhaps these have been corrected in a newer edition?

r
RCHscc
Jul 15, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed this book, the first in this series. Thought the plot was well laid out and even though we were given clues, I was still surprised when the killer was revealed. Love the description of the Nelson area and even better, the author is from BC! Looking forward to reading the sequel.

m
mcjean3
May 05, 2017

yes - a really good start to a new Canadian series. Nice sense of history and place. Well written. Look forward to the next book.

smc_1 Jan 25, 2017

A delightful debut mystery by a local author. If you like plucky, smart protagonists, a local setting (Nelson, BC), a quirky cast of characters and good plotting you'll love this first Lane Winslow historical mystery.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top