The Sisters

The Sisters

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
One had a secret. One lost her mind. One died. After the tragic death of her twin sister and a subsequent breakdown, Abi has moved to Bath to make a fresh start. But wherever she goes, she's haunted by the memory of Lucy, and can't stop herself from searching fruitlessly for her sister's face in crowds. One day she meets Bea - a girl with an uncanny resemblance to Lucy - and Bea's twin brother, Ben, with whom she feels an irresistible attraction. Before long, Bea has invited Abi to live in their townhouse, which places Abi's budding relationship with Ben under strain. But Bea has a secret to hide that she'll do anything to protect, and as Abi falls deeper in love with Ben, things in the house take a turn for the worse. Slowly, Abi begins to unravel, and must question everything she thought she knew about her new friends - and about herself.
Publisher: 2015
ISBN: 9780007594429
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
m
mynovelesquelife
Jun 13, 2019

Sooooo, here is my confession: I judge books by their covers. I picked up The Sisters by Claire Douglas based on the cover and tag line. It was set in Britain so I was eagerly awaiting to read this book in one shot. Two days later...

RATING: 2 STARS
2015 (UK) 2016 (North America); Harper Collins

​​After the loss of her twin sister, Abi has moved to Bath to be closer to her parents. One day she meets Bea, who looks a lot like her sister Lucy and her. Bea invites her to a art opening at her home and they quickly become friends. At this art opening Abi meets Bea's twin brother, Ben. When one artist moves out of Bea and Ben's family home, Bea invites Abi to move in rent free. Abi soon finds herself falling for Ben which only begins to irk Bea. Soon Abi's letters from Lucy go missing, and she begins to get threatening messages. When Abi goes to Ben he sides with his sister and Abi doesn't know who to turn to and if she can get out alive.

If I see one more book with the review/tagline of "for fans of Gone Girl or The Girl on the Train" I am purposely going to not read it. So there. I had high hopes for this book. The synopsis sounded great and it being a British psychological thriller I couldn't wait till this book came up on my list. Sadly, this book did not live up to the hype. (It was chosen as a winner for Marie Claire fiction contest and Good Housekeeping also recommended it).

1. I didn't like the characters and so I had no one to root for and kind of felt like they deserve anything awful that happens (I know, that is mean - but they did say it was like Gone Girl so that was at least true!)

2. I am not sure why Abi didn't just leave...period. There was no incentive in my opinion to keep her there.

3. Where was the suspense??? And, the psychological thriller part??? The constant is she crazy or not was pretty obvious. It was easy to figure out what happened to Lucy...and the later "twists".

4. At times it felt like there was no editing involved. There were errors and at time rambling descriptions.

I gave this book a star because it is an easy read and I did finish it. I decided to give it another star because I felt bad that this book didn't even grab me at any point. I will not be reading any further books by this author.

***I received an eARC from EDELWEISS***

o
ownedbydoxies
Dec 03, 2017

Disappointing. I didn't finish, because I couldn't get a feel for any of the characters; they all seemed flimsy to me. Actually, I wondered if, because her other book (The Girl on the Train) was such a massive hit, she found herself rushed into writing a follow-up, but didn't have the time or energy or imagination to build a strong story-line with believable characters.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top