Dinner With Edward

Dinner With Edward

The Story of A Remarkable Friendship

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
6
Rate this:
"When Isabel meets Edward, both are at a crossroads: he wants to follow his late wife to the grave, and she is ready to give up on love. Thinking she is merely helping out her friend, Edward's daughter--who lives far away and asked her to check in on her nonagenarian dad in New York--Isabel has no idea that the man in the kitchen baking the sublime roast chicken and light-as-air apricot souffl©♭ will end up changing her life. As Edward and Isabel meet weekly for the glorious dinners that Edward prepares, he shares so much more than his recipes for apple galette or the perfect martini, or even his tips for deboning poultry. Edward is teaching Isabel the luxury of slowing down and taking the time to think through everything she does, to deconstruct her own life, cutting it back to the bone and examining the guts, no matter how messy that proves to be. Dinner with Edward is a book about sorrow and joy, love and nourishment, and about how dinner with a friend can, in the words of M.F.K. Fisher, 'sustain us against the hungers of the world'"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: Chapel Hill, North Carolina : Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, 2016
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2016
ISBN: 9781616204228
Branch Call Number: 158.1092 VIN 2016
Characteristics: 213 pages ; 19 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

AL_KATI May 23, 2017

I gobbled this up, annoyed that I couldn't read faster but glad I didn't read too fast lest I miss the charming, subtle, sweet lessons from Edward. This memoir hit my heart in just the right way. Perfect for fans of "My Mrs. Brown."

Bunny_Watson716 Dec 12, 2016

A moving tale of friendship between a widower and a younger journalist. Their time together is spent eating the delicious meals Edward cooks for Isabel, but the real gift of their friendship is the gentle, emphatic advice that he gives Isabel on the art of living and enjoying life. Heartwarming and bittersweet.

o
okbookgirl
Nov 24, 2016

A sweet and moving memoir about a friendship between an older man and younger woman, with the man gently (& somewhat subversively!) teaching his friend about how to live a good life, in the guise of teaching her about cooking and fabulous food.

l
Liber_vermis
Nov 12, 2016

This slim book is about cooking and menu planning techniques rather than recipes. The twice-divorced author's life and work turmoil contrasts with the life-long deep love of Edward and Paula and Edward's tranquil approach to "the last supper". This memoir offers insights on end-of-life issues too. The Roosevelt Island 'tram' is actually an aerial cable car over the East River. For the non-foodie, "M. F. K. Fisher" is Mary Frances Kennedy Fisher (1908 – 1992) an American food writer.

smc01 Sep 12, 2016

This book is an absolute delight, and an inspiration for making the most of friendships. The cooking and recipes are wonderful, but the best part is the relationship between Isabel and Edward - a reminder that connections can be made at any age.

p
pinetree3
Jun 01, 2016

Delightful and very well written.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top