The Pier Falls

The Pier Falls

And Other Stories

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Mark Haddon, author of international bestsellers The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and A Spot of Bother, returns with a collection of unsparing short stories.In the prize-winning story "The Gun," a man's life is marked by a single afternoon and a rusty .45; in "The Island," a mythical princess is abandoned on an island in the midst of war; in "The Boys Who Left Home to Learn Fear," a cadre of sheltered artistocrats sets out to find adventure in a foreign land and finds the gravest dangers among themselves. These are but some of the men and women who fill this searingly imaginitive and emotionally taut collection of short stories, weaving through time and space to showcase Mark Haddon's incredible versatility. Yet the collection achieves a sum that is greater than its parts, proving itself a meditation not only on isolation and loneliness but also on the tenuous and unseen connections that link individuals to each other, often...
Publisher: 2016
ISBN: 9780385685696
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Dec 19, 2016

This is and is not the same Mark Haddon who may have charmed you with "The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time." You will recognize the flawless skill of Haddon's tight prose style, but in this collection of short stories his words prove far sharper, blades that will cut you in ways you do not expect. The stories shine with humanity, but often glare with a relentless sense of isolation.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at SL

To Top