The Wrath & the Dawn

The Wrath & the Dawn

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
29
1
1
In this reimagining of The Arabian Nights, Shahrzad plans to avenge the death of her dearest friend by volunteering to marry the murderous boy-king of Khorasan but discovers not all is as it seems within the palace.
Publisher: New York, NY : G. P. Putnam's Sons, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA), ©2015
ISBN: 9780399171611
9780147513854
Branch Call Number: AHDIEH
Characteristics: 404 pages : illustration, map ; 22 cm
Alternative Title: Wrath and the dawn

Opinion


Featured Blogs and Events

Staff Book Review: The Wrath & the Dawn

The story is centered in a middle eastern city called Khorasan, many years ago. It follows a teen girl named Shahrzad who is on a revenge seeking mission to kill the young king of Khorasan. The king has been marrying a different woman every night, and then having them murdered the next day for many months now, and he had Shahrzad’s best friend killed. (more)


From Library Staff

"it is a bit like Game of Thrones mixed with Aladdin" - Joy

Comment
SurreyLibraries_Reads Nov 28, 2018

The story is centered in a middle eastern city called Khorasan, many years ago. It follows a teen girl named Shahrzad who is on a revenge seeking mission to kill the young king of Khorasan. The king has been marrying a different woman every night, and then having them murdered the next day for ma... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
k
kmobuckeye
Feb 19, 2019

Really enjoyed this retelling - Great start to a series

JCLStefanieE Feb 18, 2019

Inspired by the stories in Arabian Nights, Wrath is first and foremost a romance wrapped in mystery and adventure. Perfect for fans of Rae Carson.

The story is centered in a middle eastern city called Khorasan, many years ago. It follows a teen girl named Shahrzad who is on a revenge seeking mission to kill the young king of Khorasan. The king has been marrying a different woman every night, and then having them murdered the next day for many months now, and he had Shahrzad’s best friend killed. Shahrzad is the first woman to volunteer to be the next bride sacrifice, and the king cannot help but wonder why this girl would give up her life. As the two start to spend more time together, Shahrzad begins to realize that there must be a reason why the king kills these women, and she is determined to find out why. I was so impressed with how strong the female characters were in the story, and how the author seemed to make a point that women are capable of saving themselves. The story has romance, suspense, action, humour, and it is a bit like Game of Thrones mixed with Aladdin but for Young Adults. A good book to read in the summer. (Submitted by Joy)

w
WoodneathAlexa
Jul 24, 2018

If you enjoy fairy-tale spin offs then this is the duology for you!! Renee Ahdieh took the idea of the original 'A Thousand and one Arabian Nights' story and made it all her own. The main character, Shahrzad, mirrors Disney's Princess Jasmine with her strong willed attitude. Throughout the story she continuously takes matters into her own hands and refuses to let anyone decide her fate for her. Among the action and mystery there is also a beautiful love story with a lot of "swoon worthy" scenes in this book. I suggest you have book 2 (The Rose and the Dagger) on hand when you finish this one!

r
RebelBelle13
Apr 03, 2018

This is a retelling of 1001 Nights- or, if you're familiar with Disney's Aladdin, the Genie's reference in his Friend Like Me song, "Sharhzd had a thousand tales." It was tough to get into at first, since it takes place in the Middle East- an area I'm not familiar with, and the strange names and honorifics did confuse me for awhile. As soon as I got a handle on it, I really began to enjoy myself. There's only hints of magic here- a floating carpet, a curse, and the ability to light candles. It isn't central to the story, like so many YA fantasy novels, and this magic takes a backseat to the romance, which certainly takes center stage. I quickly became wrapped up in Sharhzd and Khalid's relationship, and was not happy when the story shifted to her father or Tariq. Had I been reading the actual book instead of listening to it on Audiobook, I would have just skimmed through those chapters. Tariq comes off as whiny and petulant, and acts like a 3 year old who has had his favorite toy taken from him. Shazi and Khalid's relationship progresses at a believable rate. I really felt for both of their struggles- neither of them wanted to fall in love, it simply complicated things. I was happy to see that the book started off with them being married, and having sex right away- something you don't often see in YA novels, and it was refreshing. It set the stage for them actually making love at the end of the book, and showcased that there is an obvious difference between the two. Shazi is the strongest leading lady in YA that I've seen in awhile, and that was also very refreshing. She fights with her words and actions. She is unafraid to do what is right. She's spunky, brave, and demands the truth. I will most definitely be reading the next, as this ends on a cliffhanger.

OPL_AutumnH Feb 13, 2018

One of my favorite folk tale retellings. The characters are engaging and multifaceted and the story never drags. And the setting details are gorgeous - I want to be in those places and most especially eat all the amazing food described.

ArapahoeLaura Feb 07, 2018

A loose retelling of A Thousand and One Arabian Nights with an epic romance

k
KMJ_
Jan 22, 2018

This book is a poorly written retelling of Scheherazade. Khalid marries a new woman every day and then his wife is killed in the morning. Shahrzad is determined to avenge her best friend who was one of Khalid’s wives. She volunteers to be Khalid’s wife with the intention of killing him, but she doesn’t have a plan. Shahrzad considers herself independent and strong, but she is weak and indecisive around both of her controlling love interests. I think the author wants us to be sympathetic to Khalid, but curse or no curse, he’s a terrible person. There are really disturbing consent issues, and I think the author meant it as a compliment to Shahrzad that Khalid forced himself on her on their wedding night. It was disgusting. There are also numerous plotlines that don’t go anywhere, and are probably just setting up the second book. I won’t be reading that.

p
PinesandPrejudice
Jan 10, 2018

Here's my simple assessment of this book: the main character was badass. She was amazing, witty, intelligent, sharp, and brave. I admired her and wanted her to succeed in all the things. But the story surrounding her was not well done. I felt like a character like that deserved more -- I wished for more intensity, more depth. But I just got a love story with a weak love triangle and I was disappointed. I think it had a lot of potential but it could have been better.

Also, the audiobook of this book is crap. The character doesn't change voices and makes it difficult to keep track of who is speaking what and when.

n
Nymeria23
Nov 26, 2017

It really was a fun read. I may have seen some of the plot twists coming, and had a hard time in the beginning keeping some of the character names straight in my head, but overall it was a novel about looking past a person's reputation or actions and searching for their emotions and motives.
The main character is a fiery, independent woman who hates letting other people make decisions for her. I loved her, honestly. I thought in the beginning that her strength would visibly sizzle out as the novel went on and as she fell in love (like many other books I've read), but I was thankfully wrong. Shazi kept her stubbornness and tenacity strong throughout the entire book and I was incredibly happy for it.
Some side characters I wish I knew more about, and could delve a bit into their stories more, but otherwise I could feel their need in the plot.
Not sure how I personally feel about Khalid yet, but I can understand Shazi's feelings towards him.
Also, I loved the stories she told, and was very grateful that they weren't overlooked and paraphrased to save time.
Great read, nice one to relax and kill time with.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
r
rozanowak
Mar 29, 2016

rozanowak thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Notices

Add Notices
r
rozanowak
Mar 29, 2016

Sexual Content: A couple scenes. Nothing too vivid

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top