The Chessmen

The Chessmen

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Fin Macleod, now head of security on a privately owned Lewis estate, is charged with investigating a spate of illegal game-hunting taking place on the island. This mission reunites him with Whistler Macaskill - a local poacher, Fin's teenage intimate, and possessor of a long-buried secret. But when this reunion takes a violent, sinister turn and Fin puts together the fractured pieces of the past, he realizes that revealing the truth could destroy the future.
Publisher: London : Quercus, 2013
New York : Quercus, 2015
Copyright Date: ©2012
ISBN: 9780857382238
Branch Call Number: MAY
Characteristics: 1 volume
Alternative Title: Chess men


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

May 23, 2016

An impressive conclusion to the trilogy.Questions answered and further depths probed.As a trivial aside, not so trivial in the circumstances, Donald Trump's mother, Mary Anne MacLeod emigrated to USA as a young woman seeking a better life. She was born at Tong on Lewis in 1912. The past always has a bearing on the future.

Feb 10, 2016

I totally agree with "Dub"... of the three books I enjoyed this least but perhaps that is because I knew the story was at an end?

Jan 07, 2016

The third and last of the series is interesting. I think the first 2 were outstanding.

Jul 08, 2015

A quote from Aristotle seems fitting here...'The whole is greater than the sum of its parts.' Each of the three books can stand alone as a very enjoyable read but taken together they are a masterpiece. Character development and sense of place stand out while the stories are complex and satisfying. Do yourself a favour and read The Blackhouse, The Lewis Man and The Chessmen and enjoy a rare treat. 10 out of 10.

Oct 07, 2014

I really liked the first 2 mysteries in this series. May's characters are interesting and his sense of place is first-rate. However, this story is a let-down. I feel like he recycled some of the plot devices from the previous stories. Definitely read the first two (The Blackhouse and The Lewis Man). The depictions of the Scottish islands and the lives of the on those islands will remain long after the details of the mysteries fade.


Add a Summary

Mar 17, 2015

Third book in the Lewis trilogy.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at SL

To Top