Voyager

Voyager

Seeking Newer Worlds in the Third Great Age of Discovery

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
A new account of the Voyager space program--its history, scientific impact, and cultural legacy. Launched in 1977, the two unmanned Voyager spacecraft have completed their Grand Tour to the four outer planets, and they are now on course to become the first man-made objects to exit our solar system. To many, this remarkable achievement is the culmination of a golden age of American planetary exploration, begun in the wake of the 1957 Sputnik launch. More than this, Voyager may be one of the purest expressions of exploration in human history. For more than five hundred years the West has been powered by the impulse to explore, to push into a wider world. In this highly original book, Stephen Pyne recasts Voyager in the tradition of Magellan, Columbus, Cook, Lewis and Clark, and other landmark explorers.--From publisher description.
Publisher: New York : Viking, c2010
ISBN: 9780670021833
0670021830
Branch Call Number: 919.9204 PYN 2010
Characteristics: xix, 444 p., [8] p. of plates : ill. ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

ChristchurchLib Sep 30, 2014

According to environmental historian Stephen J. Pyne, the year 1957 - which saw the launch of Sputnik - kicked off the "Third Great Age of Discovery," an era as important to human civilization as the Age of Exploration that sent Columbus and others to the New World. In this "unique and engrossing" book (Publishers Weekly), Pyne focuses on the twin Voyager spacecraft sent to explore the outer solar system and beyond (they'll keep going until they lose power, around 2025) and discusses unmanned space missions in the context of their cultural, technical, and political similarities to earlier geocentric expeditions. Science and Nature Newsletter October 2014.

s
spivo
Sep 30, 2011

I would not recommend this book. The reason is that the author intersperses comments about one or another of the explorers of the post-Columbus era with his comments on Voyager. He goes out of his way to be sure to mention every Portuguese expedition you can think of, in between a paragraph or two of JPL history.

j
John_M
Jul 19, 2011

This would be a much better book if you are expecting a history of 16th and 17th century exploration than 20th century space exploration. The author tries to link the two and show parallels. Did not turn me on.

2
22950009541673
Nov 03, 2010

A lot of reading. Nowever, don't omit the index at the back.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top